Hexcrawling in Cairn 2e

I like the travel rules in 2e, but it irks me that it isn’t tied to exact distances. I want to run pointcrawls between known locations and hexcrawls for unexplored areas, so I rooted everything to a unified 12 miles / 2 six-mile hexes per 8-hour Watch system. Because I’ve opted for percentage penalties, there’s a limit to how many I can stack before it gets silly (unlike adding Watches), so I’ve also gone with a simplified weather system: in rough weather, add +1 Fatigue (per hex / 6 miles) or halve speed. The weather table is one I found online but don’t remember the source.


The party can travel 12 miles on the road in Easy terrain each Watch, with factors like terrain, path type, and weather determining speed as indicated on the tables below.

TerrainDistance Per Watch***Path TypePenalty
Easy12 miles***RoadNone
Tough9 miles***Trail75% speed
Perilous6 miles***Wilderness50% speed
2d6SpringSummerFallWinter
2RainstormThunderstormWild windsSnowstorm
3-5DrizzleVery hotHeavy rainsHail
6-8OvercastClear, hotOvercastBitter cold
9-11Bright & sunnyPleasantly sunnyCool rainOvercast
12Clear, warmWonderfully warmClear, warmClear, crisp

Italicized results: the party must add 1 Fatigue (per hex / 6 miles) or halve speed.


Traveling in the absolute worst conditions (perilous wilderness in rough weather) gives you 1.5 miles per Watch, or 6 miles / 1 hex per 2 days of travel.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started